The hinge

It’s the squeaking hinge. The incessant, grind-your-nerves squeaking hinge.

It wakes me in the morning and continues – squeak squeak squeak – until breakfast. It returns just before lunch – squeak squeak squeak. And again, in the afternoon – squeak squeak squeak.

Constantly.

And it’s making me feel terrible.

I’m on about crying, if you haven’t figured out the analogy yet. Well, not crying as such – more of a whinge really. My usually happy (if somewhat melodramatic) baby has turned into a Grumpinator that would rival Victor Meldrew.

And I just don’t know why.

This time last week, she’d wake with a babbling gurgle and reward me with a wide, toothy grin as soon as she saw me. Now, she wakes squeaking and doesn’t stop for the next half an hour.

It gets worse whenever I have to do anything, like make her something to eat. The incompetent mother that I am, I can’t actually hold her on my hip while I chop vegetables. So she squeaks.

I know what you’re thinking – for God’s sake woman, get a grip! But it’s not that easy. You try being in close confines with a squeaking hinge for hours on end. It’s really rather irritating.

And that’s what’s making me feel bad. I shouldn’t be “irritated” by my ten month old baby. I should realise she’s having a hard couple of days. Whatever it is, I should be there to cuddle her. I shouldn’t huff “not this again” as I plonk her on the floor to get on with something.

Where has my patience gone? Where is her happy face? What am I doing wrong?

Answers on a postcard please. Or, you know, leave me a comment or something.

21 Comments

Filed under Baby stuff, Teething

21 responses to “The hinge

  1. Wow – if you haven’t been irritated by your child before now you are doing really, really well. My advice – get used to the feeling – because it’ll grow just like your little darling 🙂

    • AGH! Thanks Kate – you sound just like my mum! I suppose it’s completely normal to feel irritated, I think it’s just that she’s only 10 months old and can’t answer back yet. But I’m sure she’ll find a whole new way to irritate me when she starts talking. I hate feeling useless!

  2. Not that I would know much from personal experience but it doesn’t sound like you’re doing anything wrong. I was chatting with a woman recently who told me that she spent a few months disliking her son and feeling very guilty about it, when he turned ten. She didn’t feel at the time like she could tell anyone about it though. At least you feel able to be open which could only be a good thing. Hope you get some “answers” if others can offer them. I’ll just say, “Good lord, this is what I’ve got ahead of me!”

    • Thanks for the lovely reply. I think it’s good to be honest with other mums. Otherwise we can get the misconception everyone’s always coping magnificently when actually, it is tough sometimes. I’m also a drama queen, which doesn’t help.

      Sorry if I’ve scared you of what’s to come – if it helps, I’ve found new depths of patience since becoming a mum (most of the time). x

  3. I know it’s difficult to do and accept, but having had two, and the second one being more chllenging than the first, I can tell you that you can leave her to whinge for longer than you think – even go and shut yourself in another room for 10 minutes (several times a day) if you have to! Or run to the bottom of the garden and scream! As long there’s nothing she can hurt herself with, the best thing you can do is ignore her for a bit, and it will get easier. Ha! That’s what I say now…. back then it never seemed that easy! So sorry not to be much help, but you’re right it is irritating and I can only say it will get better, and you’ll have some more time to yourself again one day… when she starts school 😉

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment Steph. That sounds like good advice to me. I think I just feel guilty if I leave her grizzling, because as soon as I pick her up she stops. But then, it’s not always possible to get everything done with a baby on your hip is it?! The screaming in the garden thing is a good idea. I think I’ll give that one a try if she tests me later…x

  4. Nel

    Lordy, never a day goes past without me being irritated by something child related – you just have to suck up and swallow the guilt when you get into bed at night. You have my sympathies. It is really hard to do the jobs you need to do with someone on your hip crying.

    What about teething, could that be the problem and cause of general grumpiness? A bit of Calpol never goes amiss. My two get very excited by the bottle shaking and lovely pink stuff, wrong do you think??

  5. Nel

    Lordy, never a day goes past without me being irritated by something child related – you just have to suck up and swallow the guilt when you get into bed at night. You have my sympathies. It is really hard to do the jobs you need to do with someone on your hip crying. It always passes though, just a phase.

    What about teething, could that be the problem and cause of general grumpiness? A bit of Calpol never goes amiss. My two get very excited by the bottle shaking and lovely pink stuff, wrong do you think??

  6. Jo

    I have days like this as well, especially when they are unwell. Sometimes i find it is best to let them have their whinge to get out their frustrations etc.. A glass of wine slotted into their bedtime routine is also a must..

  7. Definitely wine! And whine, too, as you’re really not alone in this. Yes it makes me feel horrendously guilty but when The Baby starts screaming for hours on end for no apparent reason, and I’ve tried everything humanly possible to sort it, I could quite happily walk out the door and not look back.
    If it is due to teething Calpol is great as are teething rings that have been in the fridge.
    And don’t forget the wine x

  8. sophie

    Hi, sounds as if she’s get frustrated to talk- to get across to u what she would like?? Or maybe she just likes snuggles all the time.. Either way my advice would be to let her squeak, she may soon get bored of her own sound, and also she’ll realise that your not going to pick her up all the time and she may find something that will entertain her in the meantime?? Lots of love nanny sophie- I’ll be over for a gossip soon 🙂 xxx

  9. I know that feeling, they’re whiny and it winds you up and then you feel guilty about it. Maybe she’s feeling a bit under the weather? It’s hard and unfortunately part of being a parent. As they get older the crying becomes tantrums then shouting and calling you an ‘idiot’ (which is what my five year old called me today!). Hang in there and I hope she feels better soon x

    • Thank you – so do I! Half of me is looking forward to when she can talk, as I think it may help stop some of the frustration she feels. But the other half of me knows it won’t be long before she starts hurling the insults, just like your five year old. Oh dear! x

  10. Annoying little buggers aren’t they? And that’s why we drink…:-)

  11. I haven’t read through your other comments so forgive me if this has already been answered. Have you had her at the doctors? Could it be colic?

    I’m thinking the she’s probably having a hard time with teeth and they can cause all sorts of problems, but if she’s on solids now, it could be a touch of indegestion or reflux, very common in babies. And of course they will whinge because they have no other way to tell you their in discomfort.

    Good luck!
    CJ xx

    • Thanks CJ, I think you could be right about the teeth. And she also made a real song and dance about filling her nappy yesterday (lovely). I think everything was wrong yesterday – and it didn’t help my patience was wearing so thin! x

Leave a Reply

