An eco-savvy plate. Yes, really.

Behold. The latest for environmentally conscious parents.

The Beco feeding set, from Beco Things.

I’d never heard of this brand until they got in touch to introduce themselves. I have to say, I was a bit sceptical at first. I mean, I know it’s trendy to be environmentally aware and all, but aren’t eco potties and plates taking it a bit far?

And then I tried out this feeding set.

Call me fickle, but the fact it’s made from natural plant fibres, is biodegradable and is created using ethically conscious manufacturing is, quite frankly, at the bottom of the list of positives for me. Because it’s just so darn pretty.

I know, I have my priorities completely straight, right?

The thing that I love about this set is the way it looks and feels. It’s got a texture like china, which makes a change from the usual plastic tat Frog tends to eat off. This plate and bowl have a “grown up” feel, but are still very non-toddling toddler friendly.

The edges of the plate feature a handy lip, to stop food going astray…

The cup is made from the same material and has an equally satisfying shape. It’s slanted in the middle, making it easier to drink from for those less experienced in Big Girl Cup Drinking.

But it doesn’t have handles.

For us, this is a bonus, because we’re trying to get Frog more used to drinking from normal cups rather than the “sippy” and “doidy” variety. The sooner she can drink from such vessels the sooner I can stop lugging around spare cups in every handbag.

The bowl is also rather lovely. Perfect for banana eating…

My only criticism of the Beco Feeding Set is the fact it doesn’t come with a helpful assistant to teach your child which utensil goes where…

***

The Beco Feeding Set is available to buy from £11.99 from the website.

This is a review post.

8 Comments

Filed under Baby stuff, Reviews, Weaning

8 responses to “An eco-savvy plate. Yes, really.

  1. Its a cute set created with a conscious. Sounds good to me.

  2. Expat Mammy

    Her dinner looks yummy………what was I saying oh yeah cool plate

  3. Ghislaine Forbes

    Lovely to see little madam up at the table again and tucking in. I’ll buy in a set to have at home for her ladyship. Love ma x

  4. Ooh Ooh Ooh! So pretty! I love the bowl!

  5. ohh that does look a great little set I like the shape of the cup.. although not great when little ones use it to wash their folks in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

