Why a baby is better than Laurence Llewelyn Bowen

We’ve taken a fresh approach to interior design this week.

Gone are the old, boring, white walls. Hidden are the original timber beams. And camouflaged are the dull beige carpet and cream rug. In their place are spots of tomato sauce, layered with smudges of mashed potato, accompanied with a fine dusting of rice crispies and crusty sausage.

Frog has taken to decorating like a true pro. She’s really gunning for Laurence Llewelyn Bowen’s job.

Now, everyone knows baby-led weaning is messy. Hideously messy. You need a crate of newspaper to cover the floors, at least two bibs for the baby and ten tonnes of overalls for yourself. Either that, or everyone gets naked and you all jump in the bath at the end of every mealtime. Not that we do that. Honest.

So, just as Frog was starting to get rather adept at using her hands to shovel food into her mouth (with only around 45 percent of it making it to the floor) we decided to up the ante. Not content with the fact our baby clearly loves her food and will eat anything (I mean this in the literal sense – we’ve caught her trying to lick a nugget of poo in the past)  we thought it would be a good idea to introduce a spoon.

Idiots.

I’ve admitted in the past I have a tendency towards the competitive side. I’m ashamed to say it, but despite all my promises to leave the baby race etc etc, I’ve jumped straight back in. My nearly-13-month-old daughter will NOT be left behind. Oh no. She will learn how to use a spoon and will, in less than 2 weeks time, be cutting up her own meat and veg in a manner more lady-like than the queen.

Or not….

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

17 Comments

Filed under Baby stuff, Weaning

17 responses to “Why a baby is better than Laurence Llewelyn Bowen

  1. Mammasaurus

    Those are some great photos ! And worryingly they are making me feel hungry …

  2. Those picks are awesome. I’m glad we are past the massively messy stage. Now my son just looks at me with an evil glint in his eye and purposefully tips his dinner on the floor when he isn’t hungry (which is very often!). 🙂

  3. Hellie

    Oh my lord. I thought Livvy was messy, but Frog has taken it to the next level.

  4. This makes me nervous. Very, very nervous. Our two are already scarily similar, I just can’t imagine ever giving The Baby free reign with a spoon like this!
    Beeeyoootiful pictures of Frog, by the way. I like the feeding in the garden idea, if only I had a garden…
    x

  5. I dont know if I am more impressed with Forg’s ability to spoon feed or you to do a slide show!

  6. I bought a splash mat but my babe quickly delighted in throwing food beyond the perimeter of the splash mat EVERY mealtime.

  7. Oh this is hilarious! That poor bib! Is there an outline of the bib on her shirts? It looks like she has got wide range with her mess skills! 🙂 I love these pictures!!

    • She’s terrifyingly good at creating huge amounts of mess. And the bibs are pretty pointless really, as she’s recently learned how to deposit bits of food down the top of her bib and into her nappy. You’ve got to love weaning. No, really. You’ve got to. *sigh*

  8. Pingback: Cinderella shall go to the ball | Mother's Always Right

  9. mum2babyinsomniac

    Wow, I really need to let Iyla do that! I am so bad though, I really struggle with letting her make mess. I know it’s how they learn but she’s still at the stage where more goes on the floor than in her mouth and I can barely find the time to mop the floor once a day let alone 3! Eating outside is a good idea though!

    • It’s certainly not for the faint-hearted! We put newspaper down on the floor, but F still seems to manage to miss it at every meal time. Seeing the fun and enjoyment she gets out of food makes it worth it though. Most of the time. (Also helps that I’m not house proud!).

Leave a comment