We survived

I know Real Nappy Week isn’t over yet and so this celebration may be a bit premature. But I’m going to live dangerously.

We’ve got to day 6 of Real Nappy Week with no spillages, no poo on carpets and no fuss. I can’t believe how easy it’s been. Seriously.

When Bambino Mio asked me to take up the Real Nappy Challenge and swap a disposable for a reusable every day for a week, I wasn’t convinced. But after realising the wine budget was being spent on nappies, I thought I’d give it a go. I really like wine, see.

And it’s been fine. So fine in fact that I’m going to switch completely. I know they’re better for the environment and all that, but that’s not my main motivation for ditching the disposables. Call me selfish, but my main reason is the fact I’m going to save heaps of cash. Oh, and they’re very pretty. Not to mention the fact Frog hasn’t worked out how to take them off (unlike the disposable version) so I haven’t had to clean poo off the carpet this week.

If you’re at all interested in joining me (did I mention it leaves you with more money for wine?) then I’ve written more about the savings at Playpennies today. Or you can find out more at Go Real.

Oh, and if you’re a real nappy expert and have any tips you’d like to share, I’d love to hear those too. I’m still a bit of a cloth nappy virgin so am after all the help I can get to continue making my life as easy as possible.

I wasn’t paid to write this post, but I did receive a couple of Bambino Mio cloth nappies to review. And they were really rather good. Just saying.

13 Comments

Filed under Baby stuff, Cloth nappies, Reviews

13 responses to “We survived

  1. wow well done you – Im not sure i could do that but have huge respect for those that do x following you now x

    • Thank you – take it from a woman who swore she’d NEVER use cloth nappies – they really are FINE. Honestly. And anything that saves money is always a bonus in our house! x

  2. I am sure you will have to share some of that wine with me lady. My introduction fee….. X

  3. granny from the north

    Hi all, I can help.
    Somewhere in the loft I can probably find Great Northern Love Machine’s nappy san bucket (oops sorry for the advert – most people over 50 will know this household name!) , with a gorgeous litte teddy transfer on it! Oh and a lid to hide all the gooey stuff. By baby number 3 we were using disposables but babies number one and two were terry towelling all the way…so never mind that your fingers are now scarred for life fastening the damn things with an gi-normous nappy pin, or that your little darling looked mishapen..everyone’s did! Ah happy memories…GoNXXX

  4. Wow, I hadn’t realised these were coming back! I’m certain that, if they could, babies would celebrate this alternative to the scratchy diaper.

  5. My mum has been teaching us to fold terry cloths this weekend (ultra old school!), which is the main cloth nappy we’ll be using but we’ve got some Bambino Mio and Bum Genius to give a go as well. We just haven’t the money to go disposable, to be perfectly honest, so I hear you on the saving bit. Good point about Frog not being able to pull them off. That’s a definite advantage!

    • I can honestly say the cloth nappies have been just as easy as the disposables. In terms of the washing, our washing machine is on every day anyway (Baby-led Weaning has alot to answer for!) so a few extra bits of cloth don’t make much difference. Good luck with the nappies – I’m going to be stocking up on cloth now too! x

  6. Yay for cloth – well done you. Don’t forget us at http://www.nappynetwork.net if you run into problems – always happy to help out

  7. woo! welcome new clothy! Would you like me to send you one of these – http://www.lactivist.co.uk/guide-to-reusable-nappies-p-180.html it’s a guide to real nappies, very clear and easy to follow. Just email me your address and I’ll pop one in the post for you.

  8. Pingback: I’ve been unfaithful | Mother's Always Right

Leave a comment