The perils of postnatal exercise: Part II

Everyone knows Friday nights are for drinking wine. Everyone that is, except the sickeningly toned and beautiful people who run Boot Camp.

This is the Boot Camp that I signed myself up to, in an I’m so fat moment. The Boot Camp that I instantly regretted joining. The Boot Camp that I’ve paid more than £60 for. The Boot Camp that the (self proclaimed) Northern Love Machine has money on me packing in next week.

Well I’ve proved him wrong so far. I’ve now completed my second session of humiliation and pain. And because I’m a woman of my word, I will share the whole sorry episode with you.

It all went rather well at first. I ran (or sort of rolled) a whole mile without stopping. I did bouncing squats without wetting myself. I even managed a full press up (sort of). On the whole, I was pretty pleased with myself.

And then came the Pilates.

They never told me we would have to take our shoes and socks off. The thing is, when you have a baby you don’t have time to think about your feet. And it shows. Boy it shows.

I am now the least popular person at Boot Camp. No one wants to do The Triangle next to someone with feet like mine. I won’t go into too much detail, but in the past I have been known as Mrs Hobbit Foot.

So what have we learnt after Lesson Two? Wax your toes. It pays to be prepared.

14 Comments

Filed under Fitness

14 responses to “The perils of postnatal exercise: Part II

  1. Hahaha…you’re a braver (wo)man than me, Gungadin! Sharing exercises is something to be done in the privacy of your own room…never a pretty sight, especially when you’re hirsute! x

  2. This has happened to me – going swimming. I’m not very good at reaching my toes at the mo! Go you – baring body and soul for your readers. 🙂

  3. Haha! This did make me laugh 🙂 I bet no one noticed at all 🙂 The one thing I’ve carried on doing since having a child is always looking after my feet… painting my nails etc… bizarre as then I cover them in tights and shoes… doh! so who on earth ever sees them!!! *looks at hands which are a mess*. I think my priorities are ALL wrong 😉 ƸӜƷ Deb ƸӜƷ xxx

    • Not at all, I think you have it sussed. I just can’t seem to get around to sorting out my hairy hobbit toes and everytime I begin painting my toenails I end up only doing one before needing to do something else. I currently have very hairy multicoloured toes. Lovely.

  4. Haha! they sound awesome 🙂 🙂 Multi coloured is the way forward!!!

    Re: toybox – I found a huge blanket box from a junk shop for a tenner. It was almost stained black and look a bit grim, but ditto on not spending much. I just literally slapped some magnolia paint on it and it looks lovely. I don’t think I have pics of the before of it sadly… now it doubles for seating too with cushions on top… all you have to do is look out for piece with interesting carving in them – they look really old fashioned and stained a bit too dark for anyone else to want them – so places sell them for next to nothing – but they paint up beautifully… I think my email address shows up privately for you doesn’t it? If so drop me an email and I’ll send you a pic of what I did to give you some ideas hun 🙂 Xxx

  5. Whoaaaaaa! Respect for taking on Boot Camp straight off the bat. Best of luck – here’s to Divas kicking some Boot Camp behind!

    Truffle

    • So far it has been the biggest mistake of my life, but because I’m massively stubborn I am going to persist…at least I know I have your respect – the man just finds it all highly amusing!

  6. Pingback: The perils of postnatal exercise: Part III | Mother's Always Right

  7. Pingback: The beginning of the rest of my life | Mother's Always Right

  8. Pingback: The perils of postnatal exercise: Part IV | Mother's Always Right

  9. Pingback: Ooh, get me | Mother's Always Right

  10. Pingback: Packing the Prime Minister | Mother's Always Right

  11. Pingback: How to have a yummy bum | Mother's Always Right

Leave a comment