The perils of postnatal exercise

There’s nothing quite like an exercise class to make you feel rubbish about yourself.

Last night I took my first step to getting back into shape after having my baby. I know, I know, she’s eight months old now, haven’t I left it a bit late? J-Lo was back pumping iron after six weeks, you say? Whatever. I am lazy. I won’t deny it.

Anyway, it was hell. Pure, unadulterated hell.

The thing is, this experience of pure, unadulterated hell is one I will have to repeat twice a week, for six weeks. Because I’ve paid for all the lessons already. And I have a bet on with the (self proclaimed) Northern Love Machine that I won’t drop out.

Seeing as it’s too late for me to save myself, I thought I would commit the utterly selfless act of being the exercise guinea pig. I will undergo a twice weekly humiliation, for your benefit. Every time something awful happens at one of these classes, I will share it with you. That way, you can gain all the virtuous experience of an exercise class, with none of the humiliation.

So, what have we learnt after Lesson One? Don’t do bouncing squats if you’ve had a baby in the last year. They make you wet yourself.

16 Comments

Filed under Fitness

16 responses to “The perils of postnatal exercise

  1. look forward to hearing about your humiliations!!
    and make that “Don’t do bouncing squats if you’ve had a baby in the last 10 years.” in my case! (or jump on trampolines,dance,bend down too quick, get up too quick, play kwik cricket………..)
    x

  2. Hellie

    Seriously PMSL….. I wasn’t expecting that last line !!!

  3. Pingback: Mother's Always Right

  4. granny from the north

    What do your recommend for a female who’s baby is 30! have I left it too late? I fear so.

  5. Pingback: The perils of postnatal exercise: Part III | Mother's Always Right

  6. Pingback: The perils of postnatal exercise: Part IV | Mother's Always Right

  7. Pingback: Bribery and the MAD Blog Awards | Mother's Always Right

  8. Pingback: Bribery works | Mother's Always Right

  9. Oh I’m with Helen, in my case don’t do anything that involves any sudden movement at all if you have had a baby within the last 15 years 🙂 x

  10. Pingback: A letter from a very fat woman to a very tiny person | Mother's Always Right

  11. Pingback: Sometimes it’s hard, to be, a woman (dum de dum de dum) | Mother's Always Right

  12. Pingback: How to have a yummy bum | Mother's Always Right

  13. Pingback: Wetting pants and the Gurgle Blog Awards | Mother's Always Right

Leave a comment